Can I Go to Jail for Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

In New Jersey, reckless driving is loosely defined as when someone willfully and wantonly operates their vehicle in a way that endangers other people or property. There are various actions that can constitute a reckless driving charge. For example, often, when someone is charged with driving while intoxicated, they will also receive a reckless driving charge. In other cases, a driver may receive a reckless driving charge for excessively speeding or weaving in and out of lanes. Unfortunately, many do not realize the potential severity of the ramifications of these charges, but make no mistake–if you’ve been charged with reckless driving, you need a competent Bergen County criminal defense lawyer on your side, as jail time is on the table. Continue reading and reach out to our firm to learn more about reckless driving charges in NJ and how we can help you.

Can I go to jail for a first offense reckless driving conviction in NJ?

Even a first-time reckless driving conviction can have significant and far-reaching impacts on a person’s life. The penalties for a first-offense reckless driving conviction in NJ are as follows:

  • Up to 5 points on your driver’s license
  • Up to 60 days of incarceration
  • A fine between $50-$200
  • A potential driver’s license suspension

You should also note that if you are convicted of reckless driving and receive points on your license, you can expect your auto insurance premiums to spike. This, in essence, means you will continue to pay for your reckless driving conviction for months, or even years, into the future. Our firm’s goal is to prevent that from happening.

What are the potential penalties for a second reckless driving conviction in New Jersey?

If you are convicted of reckless driving for the second time in New Jersey, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Up to 3 months of incarceration
  • A fine between $100-$500
  • A potential driver’s license suspension
  • Points on your license
  • If you now have 6 or more points on your license, you will have to pay a state surcharge
  • An increased cost of auto insurance premiums

For additional questions, or if you need an attorney to help fight your reckless driving charge, simply give us a call today. We are here to help you.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

The Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri prides itself on providing our clients with the competent, honest, and effective legal advice they deserve. Whether you are facing sex crime charges, require assistance filing for bankruptcy, or are looking to go through the foreclosure mediation process, you can depend on us to fight for your rights through every step of the process going forward. Contact the Law Office Boyd & Squitieri today to learn more about how our legal team can help you.