When a person is accused of possessing child pornography, they have a lot on the line. In fact, their entire future likely hangs in the balance of whether they’re convicted or not. If you’re currently accused of possessing or distributing child pornography, the most important thing you can do is retain the service of a seasoned New Jersey child pornography lawyer who can help combat your charges at every turn. Our legal team is here to help you. Here are some of the questions you may have about these charges and how our firm can help you fight them:
How is child pornography defined in New Jersey?
Essentially, if you’re found in the possession of film with a child under the age of 18 in a sexually exploitative manner, or if you’re accused of filming or giving permission to film such content, you will face charges of child pornography.
What potential penalties will I face for this charge?
If you’re found guilty, you will face a wide range of penalties. To start, you’ll likely face a third-degree possession/viewing of child pornography charge, which will warrant up to five years of incarceration and a $15,000 fine. Additionally, upon conviction, you’ll likely have to register as a sex offender. This means that for years down the road, your offense will be public knowledge. Employers will know, neighbors will know, and overall your life will become far more complicated.
What happens if I’m caught selling this pornography?
When someone is caught selling this type of pornography, they’ll likely face even harsher consequences than that of a possession charge. If you’re convicted, you’ll face second-degree charges, which can warrant up to 10 years of incarceration and a maximum $150,000 fine. Additionally, you’ll become a registered sex offender under Megan’s Law and you will be under Parole Supervision for Life.
What are the consequences of a first-degree child pornography conviction?
For a first-degree conviction of the possession, distribution, or manufacturing of this type of pornography, you’ll face a 20-year prison sentence and a maximum $200,000 fine. You’ll also be placed on Parole Supervision for Life and become a registered sex offender. The bottom line is no matter the specific charges you’re facing you’ll need to prioritize hiring a seasoned New Jersey sex crimes attorney who can fight for the best outcome possible on your behalf.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM
Whether you’re facing sex crime charges, require assistance filing for bankruptcy, or are looking to go through foreclosure mediation, Contact the Law Office Boyd & Squitieri today.