When a person is given a license, they are expected to operate their vehicle safely on the road. This is to ensure that they and anyone else on the road is safe from harm. Drivers who violate the rules of the road may be charged with a traffic violation. The state of New Jersey works hard to ensure the roads are kept safe, which is why traffic violations can result in certain consequences. These can vary depending on the type of violation a person may receive. This can include points on a driving record, fines, surcharges, and sometimes even a license suspension. These penalties can hurt a driving record, which is why it is important to retain the services of an experienced Bergen County criminal defense lawyer when facing these matters.
Penalties for Traffic Violations in New Jersey
When a person drives over the speed limit, they may be penalized under New Jersey’s point system. This puts a certain amount of points on a person’s driving record depending on how fast they were driving over the designated speed limit. The point system in the state of New Jersey is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
Cell Phone Violations
It is widely known that it is illegal for a person to use an electronic device while operating a vehicle. Doing so can endanger not just the driver themselves but anyone else sharing the road with them. If a driver violates this law, they can be issued a ticket that leads to its own consequences. This can include a fine anywhere from $200 to $800 as well as three points on a driving record.
In New Jersey statute, reckless driving is defined as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. Actions that constitute reckless driving can include excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. This can result in significant fines and even possibly a license suspension in certain cases.
Driving Without a License
Many people in the state of New Jersey do not have a driver’s license or their license was taken away after committing various traffic violations. If these individuals choose to drive anyway without a proper license, it is considered its own traffic violation. Depending on the nature of the offense, the individual can be charged with a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum fine of $1,000 as well as possible jail time.