What Are the Penalties for Certain Gun Crimes in New Jersey?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

New Jersey is notoriously harsh when it comes to gun-related offenses. Unfortunately, people can end up breaking certain gun laws without even realizing it, and by the time they’re informed they broke the law, it’s too late. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Bergen County criminal defense lawyer to learn more about the penalties for gun crimes and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are some common examples of gun crimes?

The state of New Jersey is no stranger to gun crimes. Just some of the most common gun-related crimes that our firm has handled in the past are as follows:

  • Possessing a firearm without having a valid New Jersey gun permit
  • Transporting weapons into New Jersey from out of state
  • Unlawfully carrying a concealed firearm
  • Unlawfully openly carrying a firearm
  • Possessing stolen or unregistered firearms
  • Possessing an assault rifle
  • Possessing a sawed-off shotgun

What happens if I am convicted of a gun crime in NJ?

When someone is convicted of a gun crime, depending on the specific crime, they can face a wide array of penalties, some of which may include jail time, high fines, and more. Penalties for some common gun crimes in NJ are as follows:

  • The illegal possession of a rifle or shotgun: Illegally possessing a rifle or shotgun is a third-degree crime, which can warrant a 3-to-5 year jail sentence.
  • The illegal possession of an air or spring gun: This is also a third-degree crime, which can warrant anywhere between 3 and 5 years of jail time.
  • The illegal possession of a machine gun, handgun, or assault rifle: Illegally possessing a machine gun, handgun, or assault rifle is a second-degree crime, which can warrant between 5 and 10 years of incarceration.

What are upgraded charges and how can they impact my case?

A person can face upgraded charges when they are allegedly caught committing more than one crime at once. For example, if you were in unlawful possession of an assault rifle, and then you used that assault rifle to rob a person or bank, you will most likely face upgraded charges for both of these crimes. This will typically subject you to the No Early Release Act, meaning you won’t be considered for parole until you’ve served at least 85% of your sentence. Our firm is here to fight for you, no matter the crime you’ve been charged with.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

The Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri prides itself on providing our clients with the competent, honest, and effective legal advice they deserve. Whether you are facing sex crime charges, require assistance filing for bankruptcy, or are looking to go through the foreclosure mediation process, you can depend on us to fight for your rights through every step of the process going forward. Contact the Law Office Boyd & Squitieri today to learn more about how our legal team can help you.

Our Recent Blogs

Can I Go to Jail for Prostitution in New Jersey?

Though not the harshest sex crime a person can face, prostitution is a crime and can warrant serious penalties. If you're facing charges of…
Read More

What Happens if I’m Convicted of Human Trafficking in NJ?

Over the years, we've seen many people facing human trafficking charges in the state of New Jersey, and we've helped fight those charges, time…
Read More