Violent crimes are the most serious offenses a person can commit in the state of New Jersey. It is because of this that law enforcement and the courts are aggressive in penalizing offenders. Oftentimes, these convictions result in years behind bars and consequences that can follow an individual for the rest of their life. If you have been charged with a violent crime in the state of New Jersey, it is crucial to retain the services of an experienced Bergen County criminal defense lawyer who can fight for your future.
What are some examples of violent crime?
The term “violent crime” encompasses a number of different violations of the law. As there are different types of violent crimes, the consequences for these charges can vary depending on the nature of the act committed. However, they have the most serious consequences possible. Some examples of violent crimes can include the following:
- Sexual Assault
- Armed Robbery
- Manslaughter or Murder
- Simple or Aggravated Assault
What are the penalties for certain violent crimes in New Jersey?
When a person is charged with a violent crime in the state of New Jersey, their future is at stake. There are various consequences an individual may face depending on the crime they committed. For instance, first-degree crimes are punishable by anywhere from 10 years to life in prison. This can include crimes such as murder, manslaughter, or rape. A second-degree crime can result in between five to 10 years of imprisonment. This can include crimes such as arson, aggravated sexual assault, or robbery.
It is important to understand that charges can be upgraded from a simple criminal charge to an aggravated criminal charge. This may be seen if a weapon was used during the crime or if it resulted in a very serious injury. When this happens, the individual may be subject to much harsher consequences than that of a simple crime.
What is the No Early Release Act?
In the state of New Jersey, those who are convicted of violent crimes may be subject to the state’s No Early Release Act. Under this law, offenders of certain violent crimes are required to serve at least 85 percent of their sentence before they are eligible to request that parole be considered. When facing these situations, it is crucial to retain an experienced criminal defense attorney to fight on your behalf.
If you have any other questions or would like to learn more about the specific penalties for the charge you’re facing, please don’t hesitate to reach out to the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri today. Our legal team is here to help you through each step of the legal process ahead.