What is the Difference Between Robbery & Burglary in New Jersey?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

Oftentimes, we use the terms robbery and burglary interchangeably in colloquial speech, however, in the eyes of the law, these two terms are significantly different. Please continue reading and speak with our Bergen County criminal defense lawyer to learn more about the difference between robbery and burglary and how our firm can help if you’ve been charged with either. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for burglary in New Jersey?

When someone is charged with burglary, it means that they are accused of entering a structure without permission with the intent to commit a crime (in most cases, the crime is either vandalism or theft). Further, if you are charged with aggravated burglary, it means that you either threatened to inflict bodily injury, or did inflict bodily injury on another person in the course of committing a robbery, or if you were armed with a weapon, or appeared to be armed with a weapon while committing burglary. If you are convicted of burglary, you will face a third-degree felony, for which you may face a potential $10,000 fine and up to five years in prison. Aggravated burglary charges, on the other hand, generally warrant up to $150,000 in fines and up to 10 years in prison.

What are the penalties for robbery in New Jersey?

When someone is charged with robbery, it means that they committed an act of theft involving violence, force, or the threat of violence or force. In most cases, robbery is considered a second-degree felony. However, if you are accused of attempted murder, or you are armed with a weapon at the time of the alleged robbery, you may face first-degree robbery charges. The penalties for robbery charges in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Robbery in the Second Degree: Up to 10 years in prison and a potential $150,000 fine.
  • Robbery in the First Degree: Up to 20 years in prison and additional high fines.

Further, you should understand that if you’ve been convicted of robbery in New Jersey, you will automatically have to serve 85% of your sentence before you are eligible for parole under the No Early Release Act. If you have any additional questions or you’ve been accused of robbery or burglary, our firm is here to help. Contact the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri today so we can get started working on your case.