What Should I Do If I’m Accused of Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation
legal gavel law books

Our firm has seen countless individuals charged with the rather embarrassing crime of shoplifting. If you’ve been caught shoplifting, you need an experienced Bergen County criminal defense lawyer on your side. Read on and reach out to our firm to learn more about these charges and we can help you through the legal process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens when someone is charged with shoplifting in New Jersey?

If you’ve been charged with a theft crime such as shoplifting, you and your attorney will have to go to court. Disorderly persons shoplifting cases (where the person stole merchandise valued at less than $200) will take place in town court, while felony shoplifting charges (where the stolen merchandise was worth more than $200) will be heard either in the County Court or Superior Court in the county where the shoplifting occurred. Your attorney will request a copy of all charges/evidence the store has against you and from there, determine the best possible defense going forward. Our firm is here to help fight your charges, every step of the way.

What are the consequences of stealing from a store in NJ?

Upon being convicted of shoplifting in New Jersey, you can expect to face a wide array of penalties. Some of the consequences of shoplifting in New Jersey are as follows:

  • If the stolen property was worth less than $200: A disorderly person’s offense, 6 months of incarceration, a potential $1,000 fine.
  • If the stolen property was worth between $200 and $500: A 4th-degree crime, 18 months of incarceration, a potential $10,000 fine.
  • If the stolen property was worth between $500 and $75,000: A 3rd-degree crime, 3-5 years of incarceration, and a potential $15,000 fine.
  • If the stolen property was worth more than $75,000: A 2nd-degree crime, 5-10 years of incarceration, a potential $150,000 fine.

You should also note that though a disorderly persons offense is not a felony, it will still go on your record, making your life more challenging even after you’ve faced the initial penalties for your charge. This is why it is so critical that all those who are facing these charges hire a knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorney who can fight them at every turn. From the moment you retain the services of the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri, you can have confidence knowing your case is in good hands.