Sexual assault charges have the potential to permanently damage someone’s life, and if you are currently facing them, you can depend on an experienced New Jersey sexual assault lawyer right here at the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri to analyze your case and determine the best path forward. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help.
Do I Need a New Jersey Sexual Assault Lawyer?
Sexual assault charges are often unfounded, unprovable, false and defendable. Having the right attorney by your side allows you to properly defend yourself. You need to legally defend yourself because, if convicted, the ramifications can last a lifetime. Our legal team has effectively fought on behalf of individuals in your situation, and we are prepared to fight for you as well.
Sexual Assault in New Jersey Defined
Aggravated sexual assault and Sexual Assault charges stem from an allegation that the accused performed an “act of sexual penetration with another person” under certain circumstances that make it illegal. (For example, if the act occurred because the alleged victim claims the accused used force or coercion) There are various other allegations that may warrant a charge of sexual assault, and if you are facing such charges, you should speak with an experienced New Jersey sex crimes attorney as soon as you can.
Penalties for Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey
There are few things more damaging to a reputation and life than being accused of sexual assault. Unfortunately, many people are wrongfully accused of sexual assault every year. If you are convicted of a sexual assault charge (a second-degree offense), you can expect to face anywhere between 5 and 10 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $150,000 fine.
If you are convicted of an aggravated sexual assault charge in New Jersey the penalties are even harsher. Upon conviction for aggravated assault (a first-degree offense), you will most likely face anywhere between 10 to 20 years of incarceration, and a potential $200,000 fine. If the allegation is that the act of penetration occurred upon a child under 13, you will be facing 25 years to life.
You should also understand that if you are convicted of any sexual assault charge, you will have to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law and have to be supervised by a parole officer for at least 15 years. The penalties for sexual assault charges in New Jersey are incredibly serious, which is why you cannot afford to face them without an experienced New Jersey sexual assault lawyer on your side.
Contact a New Jersey Sexual Assault Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with sexual assault, your future is at stake. Our legal team is here to fight for your rights and have your story told. Contact the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri today to schedule your initial consultation with our legal team.