New Jersey Child Molestation Lawyer

Contact Us For A Free Consultation
New Jersey Child Molestation Lawyer

There are few charges more damaging to a person and his or her family than those involving child molestation or child sexual offenses, and if you have been accused or charged with this, you must speak with our New Jersey child molestation lawyer as soon as you can. Contact the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri today to learn more about these charges and how we can defend you.

New Jersey Child Molestation Lawyer Protecting Those Accused of Child Sexual Assault or Sexually Based Crimes upon a Child

We understand that oftentimes, accusations of child molestation or sexually based crimes involving children can come out of misunderstandings, or, in the worst cases, are entirely false. There is no statute of limitations for when a child can accuse a person of such a violation and many times, the accused is left to defend himself years or decades after the alleged incident. You are not alone to fight those charges. No matter your situation, if you’ve been charged with child molestation or a sexually based crime, you need to speak with a New Jersey sex crimes attorney right away.

Penalties for Second-Degree Child Sexual Assault in New Jersey

When someone is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2b, Sexual Assault in the Second degree, he is being accused of performing an act of sexual contact (intentional touching of intimate body parts) with a child who is less than 13 years old while the accused is at least four years older than the child. This crime exposes a person to a mandatory jail sentence of 5-10 years in prison. Such a crime requires that the No Early Release Act applies per N.J.S.A. 2C:43-7.2.

If a person is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2c(4), Sexual Assault in the Second Degree, then he is being accused of the act of sexual penetration upon a child between the ages of 13-18. This crime exposes a person to a mandatory jail sentence of 5-10 years in prison.

If a person is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4 Endangering the Welfare of A Child, Second Degree, then he is charged with the act of sexual conduct upon a child less than 18 years of age and the accused has a legal duty to the child or has assumed the responsibility of the child, he is exposed to a mandatory jail sentence of 5-10 years.

In any of these situations, if the accused pleads guilty or is found guilty, the accused will also be required to become a registered sex offender for the rest of his life and be placed on community supervision for life or parole supervision for life, among other penalties.

Penalties for First-Degree Child Sexual Assault in New Jersey

If an act of penetration occurs to a child under 13 years of age, the accused will be charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2a(1), Aggravated Sexual Assault, First Degree.

If an act of penetration occurs upon a child between the ages of 13 and 16, and there is a special relationship between the accused and the child (e.g., the accused is related to the victim or the accused is the victim’s guardian), then the accused will be charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2a(2), Aggravated Sexual Assault, First Degree.

If the first-degree crime of Aggravated Sexual Assault occurred prior to May 14, 2014, the accused is exposed to a mandatory jail sentence from 10 to 20 years in prison. However, based on the Jessica Lunsford Act, if the crime occurred on or after May 14, 2014, the exposure to jail time is 25 years to Life. Such a crime also requires that the No Early Release Act applies per N.J.S.A. 2C:43-7.2.

In any of these situations, if the accused pleads guilty or is found guilty, the accused will also be required to become a registered sex offender for the rest of his life and be placed on community supervision for life or parole supervision for life, among other penalties.

Penalties for Third – Degree Child Endangerment or Sexual Contact Charge in New Jersey

If the accused is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4 Endangering the Welfare of A Child, Third Degree, then he is charged with the act of sexual conduct upon a child less than 18 years of age and no special relationship exists. Charges in this section have exposure to 3-5 years in jail.

In this situation, if the accused pleads guilty or is found guilty, the accused will also be required to become a registered sex offender for the rest of his life and be placed on community supervision for life or parole supervision for life, among other penalties.

If the accused is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3a Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact, then he is charged with the act of sexual contact upon a child between the ages of 13-16 and a special relationship exists between the accused and the child. Charges in this section have exposure to 3-5 years in jail.

In this situation, if the accused pleads guilty or is found guilty, the accused will also be required to become a registered sex offender for the rest of his life and be placed on community supervision for life or parole supervision for life, among other penalties.

Penalties for Fourth – Degree Criminal Sexual Contact Charge Upon a Child in New Jersey

If the accused is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3b Criminal Sexual Contact, then he is charged with the act of sexual contact upon a child between the ages of 13-16 and the accused is at least 4 years older than the child.

This statute also applies in situations where the child is between the ages of 16-18 and there is a special relationship that exists between the accused and the child.

Charges in this section have exposure to 18 months in jail and the accused will be required to become a registered sex offender for the rest of his life.

Penalties for Child Pornography Charges

If an accused is charged with N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4b Endangering the Welfare of A Child – Child Pornography, then he is charged with the creation, the possession and/or the distribution of child pornography. These charges focus on the role the accused has as well as the number of photos or movies that have been possessed, distributed or manufactured. Jail time exposure depends on the specific charged section of the Child Pornography law and whether the accused has a prior conviction for Child Pornography. The lowest charge contained in this statute is a 3rd-degree crime with the highest charge being a 1st-degree crime, exposing him to the range of 3 years to 20 years in prison with a mandatory term of imprisonment before being eligible for parole.

The accused can be required to become a registered sex offender for the rest of his or her life and be placed on parole supervision for life, among other penalties.

Contact a New Jersey Child Molestation Lawyer

The bottom line is that if you are currently facing child molestation or child sexual assault charges or child pornography charges, you have no time to spare. You must retain competent legal counsel as soon as you can. Contact a New Jersey child molestation lawyer here at the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.

Our Recent Blogs

What Does it Mean if Someone is Convicted of a Megan’s Law Offense?

There's nothing worse than being a registered sex offender. This blog talks about what happens when a person is placed on the sex offender…
Read More

What Are the Penalties for Shoplifting in New Jersey?

Many people make the mistake of shoplifting. They often do not realize just how serious of a crime shoplifting can be. That said, if…
Read More