Indecent exposure, also known as lewd conduct, is a serious offense in New Jersey that can have severe consequences for your reputation, freedom, and future. If you are accused of exposing yourself or engaging in a sexual act in public, you must read on and reach out to a dedicated New Jersey indecent exposure lawyer from the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri at once. Our firm can inform you of your rights, and the potential penalties you may face, and, from there, devise a strategy to best defend you from those penalties. Here are some of the questions you may have about indecent exposure charges and whether they can potentially warrant jail time:
How does New Jersey law define indecent exposure?
According to New Jersey law, indecent exposure is any flagrantly lewd and offensive act that you know or reasonably expect is likely to be observed by other non-consenting people who would be affronted or alarmed. This can include:
- Exposing your genitals
- Having sex
The law does not distinguish between public and private places. It only matters whether you reasonably expected to be seen by others. For example, if you had sex on a private beach at night, thinking that no one would see you, but someone did, you could still be charged with indecent exposure.
Can I go to jail for indecent exposure in New Jersey?
The penalties for indecent exposure depend on the circumstances of the offense and the people who witnessed it. In general, indecent exposure is a disorderly person’s offense, which is equivalent to a misdemeanor. This means that you could face up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
However, if your lewd act was observed by a child under the age of 13 or a person with a mental disability or defect that prevents them from understanding the sexual nature of your conduct, then you could be charged with a fourth-degree crime. This is equivalent to a felony and could result in up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Additionally, if you used a motor vehicle in your lewd act, such as having sex in a car or exposing yourself from a window, you could have your license suspended for up to two years. Furthermore, if you hold a public office, such as a teacher, police officer, or politician, you could lose your position if convicted of indecent exposure.
Rather obviously, the penalties you may face for an indecent exposure charge are severe, which is why anyone facing these charges should strongly consider hiring a seasoned Bergen County criminal defense lawyer who can fight for their future at every turn. If you’re charged with indecent exposure, you need a legal team you can depend on. You need the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri.