As you may know, people can find themselves dealing with license suspensions for a variety of reasons. Commonly, we think of DUIs, however, there are various other instances that may warrant license suspensions, including failing to show up for a court appearance, failing to pay fines or surcharges, accumulating a certain amount of points on your driver’s license for other traffic violations, or even for failing to pay court-ordered child support or alimony. That being said, once your driver’s license is suspended, you are no longer allowed to drive for a certain period of time, and if you’re caught driving with a suspended license, you can face a wide range of penalties. Please continue reading and reach out to a seasoned Bergen County criminal defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Boyd & Squitieri to learn more about these changes and how we can help you fight them.
What happens if I’m caught driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?
This New Jersey law N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 outlines the penalties for people caught driving with a suspended license.
Individuals facing their first offense can be charged with a $500 fine as well as a license suspension for up to 6 months. Those facing a second offense can be charged a $750 fine, an extended license suspension of up to 6 more months, and possible jail time of up to 5 days. For subsequent offenders, they can face a $1,000 fine, an additional license suspension of up to 6 months, and possible jail time of up to 10 days.
It is important to know that these penalties can worsen depending on how severe the case is. For example, if a person drives with a suspended license and injures another party, they can face imprisonment between 45 and 180 days. In addition to this, if a driver is under the influence with a suspended license, they can face license revocation for 1 to 2 years as well as up to 90 days in jail. Offenders can also face state surcharges of $250 every year for 3 years.
Rather obviously, if you’re accused of driving with a suspended license in New Jersey, it is of paramount importance to hire a seasoned Bergen County criminal defense lawyer who can protect your rights and fight to keep you out of jail. Contact the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri today so we can get started working on your case.