What Are the Penalties For Felony Theft Convictions in NJ?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation
man in handcuffs

The penalties for felony theft convictions can be quite harsh in New Jersey, so you’ll want to have someone on your side who can advocate for you and help you beat any charges against you. If you have been charged with a crime, a Bergen County criminal defense lawyer from our firm can help you figure out the best strategy for casting doubt on the prosecutor’s case.

How Much Does Someone Need to Steal to Be Charged With Felony Theft?

It does not take much to be charged with felony theft in New Jersey. The value of the items taken just need to be more than $200. So stealing an item worth $201 means a fourth-degree felony theft charge.

Stealing more valuable items will result in more serious charges, with these being the general guidelines:

  • A third-degree felony charge for items worth between $500 and $75,000
  • A second-degree charge for items worth more than $75,000

What Are Common Penalties for Felony Theft?

Most felony theft convictions mean big fines and long jail sentences. Even the lowest felony charge can land you in prison for more than a year. Punishments for the different degrees of felony theft mostly follow these guidelines:

  • Fourth-degree felony: up to 18 months in jail and up to $10,000 in fines
  • Third-degree felony: Three to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
  • Second-degree felony: Five to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $15,000

Penalties could be even more severe if the crime was violent or even if a weapon was just brandished and not used to harm someone.

Can the Theft of Certain Items Affect My Charges?

Further complicating matters, some items can make the charges even more serious no matter what their value is. Stealing any of these items could result in worse penalties and additional charges:

  • Credit cards
  • A prescription pad
  • Guns
  • A package that was delivered to someone else
  • A vehicle, like a boat or airplane
  • A domestic companion animal

When Should I Talk to an Attorney?

You should talk to an attorney right away if you have been charged with felony theft. You do not want to speak to the cops, even if they promise that they can help you. An attorney can speak on your behalf and prevent you from incriminating yourself.

Then your lawyer can look at your case and find the best defensive strategy. If winning looks difficult, they may be able to help you negotiate for a reduced sentence and lesser charges.

Schedule Your Consultation Today

If you want to learn more about how we can be of assistance, contact the Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri. We can schedule a case consultation and take a closer look at your situation. Then we’ll start developing a plan to defend you and help you avoid punishments like jail time and fines.