Will I Go to Jail if I’m Caught With Child Pornography in NJ?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

There is nothing more damaging to a person’s life than to be charged with a sex crime of any kind. This is especially true when the sex crime involves a minor. Possessing or distributing child pornography is absolutely considered a sex crime here in New Jersey, and if you’re caught doing so, you’ll most likely face a wide array of serious and long-lasting consequences. Read on and speak with our New Jersey child pornography lawyer to learn more about child pornography charges and how we can combat them, every step of the way.

What is the definition of child pornography?

Child pornography is defined as the filming or permission to film a child under the age of 18 in a manner that is sexually exploitative, such as by engaging in a prohibited sexual act or a simulation of such an act. Anytime a person is either in possession of this material or creates/distributes it, they will most likely face child pornography charges.

Will I go to jail if I’m caught in possession of child pornography?

Without competent legal representation, yes, you will most likely go to jail for simply possessing child pornography. In most cases, you will face a third-degree possession/viewing of child pornography charge, which entails five years in prison, a hefty $15,000 fine, and you will most likely have to register as a sex offender, which can haunt you for years to come.

Will I go to jail for selling child pornography?

New Jersey views selling child pornography as an even harsher crime than simply possessing it, and will punish those caught doing so accordingly. Typically, this is a second-degree charge and will entail a maximum 10-year prison sentence and a $150,000 fine. You will also have to register as a sex offender and will most likely be under Parole Supervision for Life.

What are the consequences of first-degree child pornography charges?

If you are caught possessing, manufacturing, or distributing child pornography in the first degree, you will most likely face up to 20 years in prison and a $200,000 fine. You will also be placed on Parole Supervision for Life and have to register as a sex offender. Anyone facing child pornography charges of any kind must retain the services of an aggressive and skilled New Jersey sex crimes attorney who can fight to preserve their good name and keep them out of prison.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

The Law Office of Boyd & Squitieri prides itself on providing our clients with the competent, honest, and effective legal advice they deserve. Whether you are facing sex crime charges, require assistance filing for bankruptcy, or are looking to go through the foreclosure mediation process, you can depend on us to fight for your rights through every step of the process going forward. Contact the Law Office Boyd & Squitieri today to learn more about how our legal team can help you.