What Are the Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction in New Jersey?

Contact Us For A Free Consultation
man driving a car

All drivers are obligated to drive safely and follow the laws of the road. This ensures their safety as well as that of everyone else on the road. Unfortunately, this is not always the case and people drive recklessly. According to the state of New Jersey, reckless driving is defined as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. When a driver is reckless, they are putting others in serious danger. This can include excess speeding, irresponsible lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. Any of these can lead to a reckless driving ticket. Reckless driving is a serious offense in the state of New Jersey. When a driver is charged, they can face serious consequences. If you’re currently facing these charges, you need to contact a seasoned Bergen County criminal defense lawyer as soon as you can,= to learn more about the potential penalties for a reckless driving conviction and how we can help you fight them.

What are the consequences of a reckless driving conviction in NJ?

A reckless driving ticket is not the same as a regular speeding ticket. Because of this, the consequences are also different. In the event of a reckless driving ticket, the consequences can be much more severe than a regular speeding violation. When a driver is issued a reckless driving ticket, they may face the following penalties:

  • 5 points on their driving record
  • Imprisonment up to 60 days
  • A fine of up to $200
  • License suspension

What are the penalties for a second reckless driving charge in NJ?

If a driver is ticketed for driving recklessly for a second time, the consequences may be more impactful than the first time. This can include:

  • Fines up to $500
  • Imprisonment up to 90 days
  • License suspension

What is a combination offense?

Combination offenses occur when an individual violated two laws at once. These are fairly common when a person is driving recklessly. For example, if a driver was going 40 miles over the speed limit while they were under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or with a child in the car, it can be a combination offense. This stands true for reckless drivers who are involved in a criminal offense. When this happens, the driver may be charged with a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) or a criminal charge in addition to a reckless driving charge. These situations can be very serious and difficult to manage, which is why it is important to have a skilled attorney to work towards lessening the charges and consequences the individual is facing.


Whether you’re facing sex crime charges, require assistance filing for bankruptcy, or are looking to go through foreclosure mediation, Contact the Law Office Boyd & Squitieri today.